ArefiX's blog

By ArefiX, history, 3 weeks ago, In English

MikeMirzayanov, I believe I have been falsely accused of plagiarism in the recent contest. My solution matches a publicly available code from GeeksforGeeks that was published before the contest. Could you please review my case? Here are the details:

-Description: In last div2, My solution https://codeforces.com/contest/1983/submission/269278403 got skipped telling in has significant match with https://codeforces.com/contest/1983/submission/269258951 this solution. But the two functions minSwapsToSort() and minSwapToMakeArraySame() was copied from geekforgeeks https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/minimum-swaps-to-make-two-array-identical/ . Our main functions are even different. Hope codeforces will take steps as soon as possible.

  • Vote: I like it
  • +48
  • Vote: I do not like it

»
3 weeks ago, # |
  Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

New to Codeforces, is it allowed to use codes from other sources?

»
3 weeks ago, # |
  Vote: I like it -91 Vote: I do not like it

Word of advice — just ask GPT to write the code for functions like minSwapsToSort() instead. Then your code will at least not be identical to a load of other people's. But yeah this highlights an issue with CF's cheat detection.

»
3 weeks ago, # |
  Vote: I like it -53 Vote: I do not like it

bro ofc you will get skipped because 80% of your code matches. you will get skipped even if u have same code but different variable names. your both 2 functions matches exactly so it was supposed to get skipped. u should have written your own instead of just copy pasting. noting to fix from codeforces side

  • »
    »
    3 weeks ago, # ^ |
    Rev. 2   Vote: I like it +46 Vote: I do not like it

    Thanks for your opinion. I threw it in the dustbin.

    • »
      »
      »
      3 weeks ago, # ^ |
        Vote: I like it +32 Vote: I do not like it

      threw*

      • »
        »
        »
        »
        3 weeks ago, # ^ |
          Vote: I like it -53 Vote: I do not like it

        No doubt you're from India

        • »
          »
          »
          »
          »
          3 weeks ago, # ^ |
          Rev. 2   Vote: I like it +33 Vote: I do not like it

          okay so? why does that matter? did i say anything about you or your country? i just corrected you mate. me being from India makes no difference

          • »
            »
            »
            »
            »
            »
            3 weeks ago, # ^ |
              Vote: I like it -15 Vote: I do not like it

            You don't need to correct others' grammar when the topic is not "English Grammar." Your first comment was baseless as it doesn't go against the third-party code rule of CF (even if the code is 100% from GFG). Hope you understand, I have no problem with your country; just remembered another guy from India also tried to fix my grammar when the topic was "Biden is good or bad." Sorry for that. Thanks.

            • »
              »
              »
              »
              »
              »
              »
              2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                Vote: I like it +24 Vote: I do not like it

              Even GFG is Indian...

              • »
                »
                »
                »
                »
                »
                »
                »
                2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                  Vote: I like it -23 Vote: I do not like it

                That doesn't change the fact that indians are telegram cheaters

                • »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                    Vote: I like it +7 Vote: I do not like it

                  Your statement in logically invalid. Majority of Indian CF accounts are not cheaters, even though I do agree most of the cheaters are Indians. You would benefit from reading academics rather than giving hate speech about other ethnicities on online platforms meant for healthy competition.

                • »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                    Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

                  Competition will be very healthy when cf removes users like butterpaneer, for saying nonsense things in post. Also removing indians was just a joke, I donno why India even give birth to people like butterpaneer who comments baseless things on a post. I admit it's not fault of India, but butterpaneer's. But India should be aware before producing people like him.

                • »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                  Rev. 3   Vote: I like it +7 Vote: I do not like it

                  what did i even do to you bro? stop attacking me personally, i never said something personal to you, if you cant even take a joke about me correcting your "throwed" then idk what man. also how come correcting someone is wrong, you should have ignored it anw.you are unnecessarily milking it more and more now. if you do not agree with me thats fine and i accepted that, but the stuff you are saying now is just personal hate. i dont think thats healthy for codeforces either. its just pure irony how you are stating the above. stop making stupid and hate statement just to keep your post relevant, anw i am not gonna reply anymore after this, have a great day and good luck.

                • »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                    Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

                  I am talking about your first comment, not the spelling one. And yes you should leave, leave cf forever maybe.

                • »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                    Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

                  say ArefiX is mentally retarded does that imply all users on cf are mentally retarded

                • »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                    Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

                  Yes that implies, as you are the people who keep this thread alive. All could have never happened if someone didn't write "bro ofc you will get skipped...(bla bla bla)"

          • »
            »
            »
            »
            »
            »
            3 weeks ago, # ^ |
              Vote: I like it -53 Vote: I do not like it

            Also the biggest cf cheater groups are from India, cf should ban India for some months.

            • »
              »
              »
              »
              »
              »
              »
              2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                Vote: I like it -38 Vote: I do not like it

              Not sure why you are getting downvoted for stating the truth. As an Indian myself, I hate to admit that the majority of cheaters originate from India, and I too am beginning to think that Indian participants should be banned for a few months. It will be hugely unfair to the honest participants, but it will be in the best interest of this platform and the coding community.

              • »
                »
                »
                »
                »
                »
                »
                »
                2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                  Vote: I like it +16 Vote: I do not like it

                Why do you want to ban yourself? I certainly wanna keep participating in contests. Just banning all Indians is definitely not a valid solution.

              • »
                »
                »
                »
                »
                »
                »
                »
                2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                  Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

                When you are honest nothing really matters, though biggest groups are from India, but there are many legit talents from India too. I just commented so cheaters send my comment's link to there group and downvote bombing starts, I really enjoyed this. All the best, remember when you are honest, nothing matters.

                • »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                    Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

                  Cheaters aren't downvoting ... Re-read the statements you are writing, you will know the reason for being downvoted.

                • »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                    Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

                  Yes this post was shared in cheater's groups, and they downvoted. Next time India should think again before giving birth to people like butterpaneer, I don't have any issue with India, but this indian user.

                • »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                    Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

                  I don't have any issue with India, but this indian user.

                  Why would you even bring up the fact that butterpaneer is Indian then? And then somehow you go from not having any issue with India to:

                  cf should ban India for some months

                  You really think people will believe you when you say you have no issue with India?

                • »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                    Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

                  "You really think people will believe", hey do you really think I care what 'people will believe'?

                • »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  »
                  2 weeks ago, # ^ |
                    Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

                  yes, of course you do!

  • »
    »
    3 weeks ago, # ^ |
      Vote: I like it +20 Vote: I do not like it

    Just a reminder that in Codeforces, you are, in fact, allowed to use code that is online prior to the contest!

    • »
      »
      »
      3 weeks ago, # ^ |
        Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

      okay mb but i think its really hard for codeforces to know if something was posted somewhere before the contest and both have used the same sources or no, it will be hard to determine which is cheating and which is not

      • »
        »
        »
        »
        3 weeks ago, # ^ |
          Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

        I think it's pretty obvious in this case because GeeksForGeeks is a well-known and widely-used site for people learning DSA. However, again, this is why I said it's probably better just to get GPT to generate you the code because then it won't match anything online identically in most cases.

»
3 weeks ago, # |
  Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

Leaked solutions for the problem might also use the same blog

»
3 weeks ago, # |
  Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

You are allowed to use codes which were online before the contest starts!

»
3 weeks ago, # |
  Vote: I like it +37 Vote: I do not like it

Hi, I was the author of the other submission. I don't know you, I did not share any solutions, and I am 100% sure that you did not intend anything malicious. I think this is a flaw on codeforces side, as this problem can just be solved by pasting in from gfg, and due to the problem not requiring you to write a lot of code, our logic coincided. Hopefully codeforces admins see this and revert your status. As a previous comment said earlier, GPT may help in avoiding situations like this again, but it is definitely allowed to use code from online sources like gfg (don't waste your time rewriting the code from scratch).

  • »
    »
    3 weeks ago, # ^ |
      Vote: I like it +15 Vote: I do not like it

    Thanks for commenting here, also Congratulations on becoming CM. Hope admin removes the flag.

  • »
    »
    2 weeks ago, # ^ |
      Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

    It is still smart to remove comments and change it to your style though. That is what I do if I look at pre-written code. That takes very little time, and it prevents yourself from being skipped. (at least I think)

    • »
      »
      »
      2 weeks ago, # ^ |
        Vote: I like it +10 Vote: I do not like it

      Unfortunately, I don't think removing comments and changing variable names does anything, as the plagiarism detector looks at how the code runs, and not how it looks, so you would have to recode some parts in order to pass the check that way.

      • »
        »
        »
        »
        2 weeks ago, # ^ |
          Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

        That is true. I usually just have the function from just say geeksforgeeks as a function in my code and then recode it in my style and how I would code it, and just delete the geeksforgeeks function. It seems to work for me.

»
2 weeks ago, # |
  Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

Write a mail to MikeMirzayanov. He will surely check and will remove that flag if found non-punishable.

»
2 weeks ago, # |
Rev. 2   Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

I also used a code snippet from gfg , luckily I didnt got skipped : https://codeforces.com/contest/1983/submission/269250099

»
2 weeks ago, # |
  Vote: I like it +1 Vote: I do not like it

The same thing happened to me as well. I have tried to contact the CF team for two days, but there is no reply. If anyone knows any other way to contact them please do tell.

  • »
    »
    2 weeks ago, # ^ |
      Vote: I like it +2 Vote: I do not like it

    I'm also trying to contact but MikeMirzayanov is very busy I think, misjudgement should be solved fast.

    • »
      »
      »
      2 weeks ago, # ^ |
        Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

      I think there should be a codeforces support system since it's not fair to those whose appeals get overlooked.

      • »
        »
        »
        »
        2 weeks ago, # ^ |
          Vote: I like it 0 Vote: I do not like it

        We cannot demand that as it's a free website, but if cf does this, that would be great.